pern


Also found in: Thesaurus, Acronyms, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

pern

(pɜːn)
n
(Animals) a buzzard, Pernis apivorus. Also called: honey buzzard
vb (intr)
poetic to spin; to move with a spiralling motion
Mentioned in ?
References in periodicals archive ?
Day Pern Years of and Roll Elsewhere the scenes where he cooks a pizza in a Corby trouser press, along with Christopher Eccleston's cameo as a snarky Manchester record producer responsible for Pern's baggy trousered '90s comeback, were stand-out moments.
However, GIST will provide technical expertise to setup required equipment "SmartX Rack" and necessary training materials to the university engineers and researchers, whereas PERN will provide space at the Higher Education National Data Centre for installation of equipment at the core of its network.
PERN reaches GEANT via its link to the Trans-Eurasia Information Network (TEIN).
Fans of Christopher Paolini's novels and Anne McCaffrey's Pern series will especially appreciate the meaningful bond between human and dragon evident in the novel.
She eventually runs away from home, taking shelter with a group of the planet's fire lizards, relatives of the magnificent dragons who help defend Pern against deadly spores called Thread.
Polish pipeline operator PERN and Ukrainian counterpart Ukransnafta signed a framework agreement to create a company tasked with extending the Ukrainian pipeline to Plock, in central Poland.
The joint venture, between Poland's state-owned PERN, and Ukraine's Ukrtransnafta, is to start construction on the 500-kin extension later this year.
An ancient menace called Thread used to rain destruction on the planet Pern, consuming its organic life.
The abbot, Luang Por Pern, is revered for his blessing of tattoo charms.
THE STAR INN IN HAROME: 1 STAR HELMSLEY The market menu at The Star Inn - a restaurant and nine-bedroom hotel owned by Andrew Pern - costs PS20 for two courses or PS25 for three.
The agreement of the Ruffwear deal was done with legal support from Newcastle law firm Sintons, with Adrian Dye and Emma Pern acting for the business.