engrossing


Also found in: Thesaurus, Legal, Idioms, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

en·gross·ing

 (ĕn-grō′sĭng)
adj.
Occupying one's complete attention; wholly absorbing: read an engrossing book.

en·gross′ing·ly adv.

engrossing

(ɪnˈɡrəʊsɪŋ)
adj
so interesting as to occupy one's attention completely; absorbing

en•gross•ing

(ɛnˈgroʊ sɪŋ)

adj.
fully occupying the mind or attention; absorbing: an engrossing book.
[1475–85]
en•gross′ing•ly, adv.
ThesaurusAntonymsRelated WordsSynonymsLegend:
Adj.1.engrossing - capable of arousing and holding the attentionengrossing - capable of arousing and holding the attention; "a fascinating story"
interesting - arousing or holding the attention

engrossing

engrossing

adjective
Catching and holding the full attention:
Translations

engrossing

[ɪnˈgrəʊsɪŋ] ADJabsorbente

engrossing

[ɪnˈgrəʊsɪŋ] adj [account, story, documentary] → passionnant(e); [subject] → passionnant(e)

engrossing

adjfesselnd

engrossing

[ɪnˈgrəʊsɪŋ] adj (study, game) → appassionante; (book) → avvincente
References in classic literature ?
The original causes which dispose men to the things which I have mentioned are, taken in one manner, seven in number, in another they are more; two of which are the same with those that have been already mentioned: but influencing in a different manner; for profit and honour sharpen men against each other; not to get the possession of them for themselves (which was what I just now supposed), but when they see others, some justly, others [1302b] unjustly, engrossing them.
The union of two beings may be so engrossing, in their eyes, have lasted so long, and embraced so many ties, as to seem indissoluble; it is all seeming; the hour will infallibly come when the past becomes as nothing, except as it has opened the way to the future.
Her prove reveals something dangerous and simmering in this engrossing story.
Five new titles are recommended picks from Scholastic, each offering different, engrossing stories that will attract young adult leisure readers seeking solid writing, believable protagonists, and engrossing plots.
Fans of Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn will find this an engrossing saga that embraces mortals, immortals, armies and heroes, soldiers and journeys, and two armies that are destined to clash--but it's not military sci-fi per say, but an epic saga that winds through social conflict and struggle.
ENGROSSING was unlucky not to get off the mark for new connections at Haydock last month and should be backed in the FSB Health and Wellbeing Handicap at Ayr.
ENGROSSING was arguably unlucky not to get off the mark for new connections at Haydock last month and should be backed to gain compensation in the FSB Health & Wellbeing Handicap at Ayr.
A number of engrossing shows will also be held, of which Aladdin and the slinky show have roused a lot of interest.
First up is The Pipe (Cert 15, HHHHH), an engrossing look at Irish villagers taking on Shell's plans to lay a gas pipeline through their local bay.
That question resonates throughout Deconstructing Tyrone, an engrossing collaboration between two urbane, thirtysomething journalists.
Written in first person perspective, Living Jonathan's Life is an engrossing, solid narrative as well as a sharply cautionary tale against the rising popularity of painkillers--drugs that are more easily accessible than ever thanks to the internet, and that have become the drug of choice among teens, even surpassing marijuana.
In this conclusion to an engrossing fantasy epic loosely based on an ancient Persian tale, the Farsalans are fighting to defend their land from Hrum rule.