halse


Also found in: Thesaurus, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

halse

(hɔːls)
vb (tr)
to hug or to embraceto implore or plead with
References in periodicals archive ?
Geoffrey Butchers, DOB (02/10/1948) of Woodford Halse, Daventry, pleaded guilty to being knowingly concerned in the fraudulent evasion of [pounds sterling]1,582,501 of Value Added Tax, contrary to section 72 (1) of the Value Added Tax Act (1994)in January 2018.
This is a great recommendation for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak (Square Fish, 2011) or for readers who enjoy books that deal with difficult real-world topics.--Jennifer Stallen
Laurie Halse Anderson's groundbreaking 1999 novel, Speak, drastically changed the ways in which authors wrote about teenage characters, helping to usher in the modern young adult genre as we know it today.
One victim, Amanda Halse, sent her sister a text at around 1pm saying she and her boyfriend Patrick Cushing had got in the limo and the group was heading to Brewery Ommegang in Cooperstown, according to her sister Karina.
Critique: With powerful illustrations by Emily Carroll, "Speak: The Graphic Novel" is a compelling and deftly crafted story by Laurie Halse Anderson that simply comes alive from first page to last.
While Lulu injects fun as diva Dorothy, it is Clare Halse's Peggy who is the true leading lady, with astonishing tap skills and a voice to match.
But just like in the story, it's Peggy, played by Clare Halse, who is the true leading lady, with astonishing tap skills and a voice to match.
In '42nd Street's' case, '80s pop luminary Sheena Easton steals the thunder from triple-threat Clare Halse, who portrays the musical's performing firebrand Peggy Sawyer.
Girls who write their pain on their bodies.' A difficult, challenging, but important read in the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, Ellen Hopkins's Crank and Deborah Hautzig's Second Star to the Right.
Sheena Easton will make her West End debut with a cast that includes Tom Lister, Clare Halse and Norman Bowman at the Saloon Bar, Theatre Royal.
Emmerdale actor Tom Lister will play Julian Marsh, while theatre star Clare Halse will play Peggy Sawyer.