Herman Wouk


Also found in: Thesaurus, Wikipedia.
ThesaurusAntonymsRelated WordsSynonymsLegend:
Noun1.Herman Wouk - United States writer (born in 1915)Herman Wouk - United States writer (born in 1915)
References in periodicals archive ?
I am taken back to the raw, inspiring, spellbinding, reverential, heartbreaking description of the battle in Herman Wouk's "War and Remembrance." If you've read the account, you did not forget it.
Herman Wouk had a career which spanned more than six decades and, as well as books, he also penned plays and screenplays.
PULITZER Prize winner Herman Wouk has died at the age of 103.
Herman Wouk, the centenarian author of bestselling novels including0x20The Caine Mutiny,0x20The Winds of War, and0x20Marjorie Morningstar, has died at age 103.
In chapter 4, Garrett reads the novels of Herman Wouk and Leon Uris as (a) rebuttals to Mailer, and (b) exemplars of an emerging conservatism.
I started with war books: Herman Wouk (The Winds of War, War and Remembrance) and The Longest Day by Cornelius Ryan, an exhaustive telling of the gliderborne soldiers who preceded the assault on Normandy.
It's an old-fashioned page-turner, tweaked by this witty and sophisticated writer so that you sometimes feel she has retrofitted sleek new engines inside a craft owned for too long by James Jones and Herman Wouk.
Navy, the novelist Herman Wouk (in The Caine Mutiny), and even vintage Burma Shave signs.
Later offerings in 2017 bring the much awaited compilation of Cornell's popular David Kinchen and Kelly Dolan stories of the ad game in the tradition of John Updike's "Rabbit" and Herman Wouk's "Youngblood Hawke" works.
The film was based on the 1955 novel of the same name by Herman Wouk, which I loved.
One of his most eminent devotees was the author Herman Wouk, whose This is My God (1959) was penned under Jung's mentorship.
They were quickly followed by Herman Wouk's best seller The Caine Mutiny--the most popular book since Gone With the Wind--and Leon Uris's Battle Cry.