bone char


Also found in: Thesaurus, Medical, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.
ThesaurusAntonymsRelated WordsSynonymsLegend:
Noun1.bone char - black substance containing char in the form of carbonized bone; used as a black pigment
char - a charred substance
References in periodicals archive ?
Activated charcoal is a black powder made from coconut shells, coal, bone char or sawdust.
While beet sugar is made using a process that involves thinly slicing sugar beets to extract its natural juices, cane sugar is produced using a similar method but sometimes processed using bone char, an ingredient made by charring the bones of animals.
Bone char is derived from the crushed animal bones through the carbonization by heating over 500-700 C in iron retort in the absence of air for 4-6 h.
Sugar may be of concern to vegans who avoid sugar that has been whitened using cow bone char. Most cane sugar processed today in the US is processed this way.
Description: OSHO is using bone char (burned animal bones) to create a filtering system to remove fluoride from community water sources in the Oromia Region.
"Not all sugars are vegan, as cane sugar is sometimes filtered through bone char (from animals).
To test the rationality of choosing aluminum-impregnated bone char as the object of study, we chose ferri-impregnated bone charcoal, aluminum-impregnated bone charcoal, and magnesium-impregnated bone charcoal as the main objects of studying the adsorption isotherms.
The term "vegan" is defined as containing no animal ingredients or animal by-products (to include honey and sugar refined with bone char), using no animal ingredient or by-product in the manufacturing process and not being tested on animals by any company or independent contractor.
But, if you use pure white sugar (the most common type), you probably are putting bone char in your drink.
Also new at The Water Exchange is an informative YouTube video on how to remove fluoride from municipal water using three methods: activated alumina, bone char carbon and reverse osmosis filtration.
Believe it or not, there are even vegan sugars out there--that is, sugars not processed with animal-derived bone char in the refinement process.