genal


Also found in: Medical, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.
Related to genal: genal gland

genal

(ˈdʒiːnəl)
adj
(Anatomy) anatomy of or relating to the cheek or cheeks
Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014 © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2014
Mentioned in ?
References in periodicals archive ?
Eye bare; arista bare; ocellar seta proclinate, short or weak; outer vertical seta reduced, indistinguishable from postocular seta; frontal setae descending to level of upper third of parafacial, flanked by irregular row of shorter setae; fronto-orbital plate with short and thin setulae from vertex level to lowermost frontal seta; one reclinate orbital seta; proclinate orbital seta absent; parafacial bare except for a few hairs below lowest frontal seta; arista tapering smoothly to apex; first aristomere short; second aristomere slightly longer than wide; vibrissa stout, inserted above level of lower facial margin; palpus clavate, slightly bowed on apical third and slightly longer than prementum; lower facial margin slightly projected; genal dilation covered with thin black setulae.
Products: Automated milking equipment, contact Steve Pretz (steve.pretz@gea.com); conventional milking equipment, contact Chris Genal (chris.genal@gea.com) dairy hygiene and service, contact Chad Buchanan (chad.buchanan@gea.com) or John Brooks (john.brooks@gea.com); barn equipment, contact Eric Moscho (eric.moscho@gea.com); manure equipment, contact Randy Gorter (randy.gorter@gea.com)
Eyes dark grey, occupying 2/5 distance between vertex and genal margin, the latter of which are closer; ellipsoid with rectate margin at antennal socket.
Posterior border furrow gradually fading adaxially, curving along the rounded genal angles.
Certain routes would remain closed for the public transport which would be offered alternative routes, keeping in view the convenience of the genal public.
Scobina can be easily diagnosed by the presence of a preapical spine on the mid- and hindtibiae, presence of carinae on the head, presence of a genal carina, lack of a pronotal groove, closed radial cell of the hindwing, simple antennal flagellum of the male, and the pincer-like female sheath (Smith, 1992).
In genal elections 2013, he said, commitments were made for development of rural areas and these pledges were being fulfilled by PML-N government.
The mystacial vibrissae are short, not extending posteriorly much beyond the base of the pinnae; genal vibrissae are present.
Setae below and behind strong postocular row pale whitish or yellow and usually weak, except a few stronger setae can be found near the posteroventral corner of the eye; genal dilation and parafacial mostly tan to orange, with vestiture reddish to light brown; polished area larger on abdomen with rear half to one-third of T4, and all of T5 polished; male frons narrow, less than the width of fifth flagellomere, 0.04 (0.03-0.05) of head width, at narrowest; female frons 0.25 (0.24-0.28) [36]
Wen, "Robust CVaR-based portfolio optimization under a genal affine data perturbation uncertainty set," Journal of Computational Analysis & Applications, vol.