anorexia

(redirected from holy anorexia)
Also found in: Thesaurus, Medical, Encyclopedia.

an·o·rex·i·a

 (ăn′ə-rĕk′sē-ə)
n.
1. Loss of appetite, especially as a result of disease.
2. Anorexia nervosa.

[Greek anorexiā : an-, without; see a-1 + orexis, appetite (from oregein, to reach out for; see reg- in Indo-European roots).]
American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. Copyright © 2016 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. All rights reserved.

anorexia

(ˌænɒˈrɛksɪə)
n
1. (Medicine) loss of appetite
2. (Medicine) Also called: anorexia nervosa a disorder characterized by fear of becoming fat and refusal of food, leading to debility and even death
[C17: via New Latin from Greek, from an- + orexis appetite]
ˌanoˈrectic, ˌanoˈrexic adj, n
Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014 © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2014

an•o•rex•i•a

(ˌæn əˈrɛk si ə)

n.
1. loss of appetite and inability to eat.
[1590–1600; < New Latin < Greek, =an- an-1 + órex(is) longing (orég(ein) to reach after, yearn for + -sis -sis) + -ia -ia]
Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary, © 2010 K Dictionaries Ltd. Copyright 2005, 1997, 1991 by Random House, Inc. All rights reserved.

anorexia

a complete lack of appetite. — anorectic, anorexic, adj.
See also: Disease and Illness
lack of appetite, usually because of psychological reasons.
See also: Food and Nutrition
-Ologies & -Isms. Copyright 2008 The Gale Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
ThesaurusAntonymsRelated WordsSynonymsLegend:
Noun1.anorexia - a prolonged disorder of eating due to loss of appetiteanorexia - a prolonged disorder of eating due to loss of appetite
eating disorder - a disorder of the normal eating routine
anorexia nervosa - (psychiatry) a psychological disorder characterized by somatic delusions that you are too fat despite being emaciated
Based on WordNet 3.0, Farlex clipart collection. © 2003-2012 Princeton University, Farlex Inc.
Translations
فقدان الشَّهِيةقِلَّة الشَّهِيَّة للطَّعام
anorexie
anoreksi
anoreksia
anoreksija
anorexia
拒食症
식욕 부진증
anoreksijasergantis anoreksija
anorexia
anorexi
โรคกลัวอ้วน
anoreksiyemeğe karşı iştahsızlık
chứng biếng ăn

anorexia

[ˌænəˈreksɪə]
A. N (Med) → anorexia f
B. CPD anorexia nervosa Nanorexia f nerviosa
Collins Spanish Dictionary - Complete and Unabridged 8th Edition 2005 © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1971, 1988 © HarperCollins Publishers 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2005

anorexia

[ˌænəˈrɛksiə] n (also anorexia nervosa) → anorexie f
to have anorexia → faire de l'anorexie
to suffer from anorexia → souffrir d'anorexie
Collins English/French Electronic Resource. © HarperCollins Publishers 2005

anorexia (nervosa)

nMagersucht f, → Anorexie f (spec)
Collins German Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged 7th Edition 2005. © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1980 © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004, 2005, 2007

anorexia

[ænəˈrɛksɪə] anorexia nervosa [ænəˈrɛksɪə nɜːˈvəʊsə] nanoressia
Collins Italian Dictionary 1st Edition © HarperCollins Publishers 1995

anorexia

(ˌanəˈreksiə) noun
(also anorexia nervosa (-neː(r)ˈvousə) ) an abnormal fear of being fat that makes people, especially girls and young women, starve themselves. She suffers from anorexia and refuses to eat.
ˌanoˈrexic, ˌanoˈrectic adjective, noun
suffering from anorexia nervosa; a person who suffers from anorexia. Anorexics can endanger their lives; She looks so thin because she is anorectic.
Kernerman English Multilingual Dictionary © 2006-2013 K Dictionaries Ltd.

anorexia

فقدان الشَّهِية anorexie anoreksi Magersucht ανορεξία anorexia anoreksia anorexie anoreksija anoressia 拒食症 식욕 부진증 anorexia nervosa anoreksi anoreksja anorexia анорексия anorexi โรคกลัวอ้วน anoreksi chứng biếng ăn 厌食
Multilingual Translator © HarperCollins Publishers 2009

an·o·rex·i·a

n. anorexia, trastorno causado por falta de apetito;
___ nervosa___ nerviosa, aversión histérica a la comida.
English-Spanish Medical Dictionary © Farlex 2012

anorexia

n anorexia; — nervosa anorexia nerviosa
English-Spanish/Spanish-English Medical Dictionary Copyright © 2006 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
References in periodicals archive ?
Anorexia comes from the Greek an (privation) and orexis (appetite), and is a general term used to describe any "diminution of appetite or aversion to food." (27) Anorexia nervosa is diagnostically defined in the DSMIV-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) to that individual who refuses "to maintain a minimally normal body weight, is intensely afraid of gaining weight, and exhibits a significant disturbance in the perception of the shape or size of his or her body." Rudolph Bell, whose book, Holy Anorexia (1985) is a well-documented source for biographic essays of female saints of the 13th century, retroactively applies the contemporary diagnoses in his analysis of the blessed and the sainted examples provided in his book.
The theme of holy anorexia, however, is not crucial to Astell's argument in Eating Beauty.
The Women in God's Kitchen is not another book on saintly anorexia in the vein of Rudolph Bell's Holy Anorexia or Caroline Walker Bynum's Holy Feast and Holy Fast, nor is it a hagiography along the lines of Robert Ellsberg's recent offering, Blessed Among All Women: Women Saints, Prophets, and Witnesses for Our Time.