Instead, you can just be a lacto-ovo-vegetarian and include dairy products and eggs in your diet, or lacto-vegetarian and include dairy products in your diet, or ovo-vegetarian
and include eggs in your diet.
* An ovo-vegetarian
diet includes plant foods and eggs, but not red meat, poultry, seafood or dairy products.
In contrast, most vegetarians consume dairy (Lacto-vegetarians), while some vegetarians consume eggs as well (Ovo-vegetarian
These include semi-vegetarian (flexitarian), pesco-vegetarian, lacto-vegetarian, ovo-vegetarian
, lacto-ovo-vegetarian, vegan, and raw food vegan diets.
The lacto- and ovo-vegetarian
diets are the most common across populations.
. This diet allows eggs but no meat, dairy, or fish.
Valensa International has introduced ovo-vegetarian
Deep Ocean Caviar, an omega-3 phospholipid formulation that contains no fish oil.
What are the differences between a Vegetarian; a Lacto-Vegetarian; a Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian and an Ovo-Vegetarian
Participants stated whether they were vegetarian and, if so, which type, utilizing the following operational definitions: vegan (consume no animal products), lacto-vegetarian (consume dairy), ovo-vegetarian
(consume eggs), lacto-ovo vegetarian (consume dairy and eggs), or semi-vegetarian (occasionally consume poultry and/or fish).